Ohio area Code

Ohio, a diverse state in the Midwest, features multiple area codes. The most common ones include 614 for Columbus, the state's capital, 216 for Cleveland, and 513 for Cincinnati. These area codes connect Ohio's major cities and regions, facilitating seamless communication throughout the state.

State Ohio
State Abbreviation: OH
State Nickname: Buckeye State Equality State
Capital City Columbus
Area Codes 216, 234, 330, 419, 440, 513, 567, 614, 740, 937
Timezone Eastern Time Zone (ET)
wyoming map usa-areacodes.word wyoming map usa-areacodes.word

What time zone is Ohio?

Ohio primarily follows the Eastern Time Zone (ET). This means that most of Ohio's area codes, including 216, 614, 513, and others, are in the Eastern Time Zone. During daylight saving time (DST), Ohio switches to Eastern Daylight Time (EDT), which is UTC-4, while during standard time, it observes Eastern Standard Time (EST), which is UTC-5.

Note that the start and end dates of daylight saving time can change


Ohio's area code history has adapted to the state's evolving telecommunications needs and population growth. It began with a single area code, 216, covering the entire state. New area codes like 614 and 513 were introduced to serve specific regions, and additional codes like 330, 419, and 440 were added to meet growing demands. Ohio's area codes have played a vital role in efficient telephone communication management.

All Area Codes in Ohio.

Area Code Location History and Details
216 Cleveland and nearby areas Covers the city of Cleveland and its surrounding areas.
330 Akron, Canton, and northeastern Ohio Serves the Akron, Canton, and northeastern Ohio regions.
419 Toledo and northwestern Ohio Covers Toledo and northwestern Ohio.
440 Lake County and western suburbs of Cleveland Includes Lake County and western suburbs of Cleveland.
513 Cincinnati and southwestern Ohio Covers the city of Cincinnati and southwestern Ohio.
614 Columbus and central Ohio Serves Columbus and central Ohio.
740 Southeastern Ohio, including Athens Covers southeastern Ohio, including the city of Athens.
937 Dayton and southwestern Ohio Serves Dayton and southwestern Ohio.

Largest Cities in Ohio with area codes

Quick overview of large cities, their area codes, and some historical context for each Ohio.

Name Area Code History and Details
Columbus 614 Columbus is the largest city in Ohio and serves as the state's capital.
Cleveland 216 Cleveland is a major city in northeastern Ohio, known for its cultural attractions.
Cincinnati 513 Cincinnati is located in southwestern Ohio and is famous for its historic architecture.
Toledo 419 Toledo is a major city in northwestern Ohio, known for its industrial history.
Akron 330 Akron is located in northeastern Ohio and is recognized for its innovation and education institutions.
Dayton 937 Dayton is a major city in southwestern Ohio and is known for its aviation history.
Canton 330 Canton, located in northeastern Ohio, is famous for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.
Parma 440 Parma is a city in Cuyahoga County, part of the Cleveland metropolitan area.
Lorain 440 Lorain is a city in northeastern Ohio, known for its location on Lake Erie.
Hamilton 513 Hamilton is located in southwestern Ohio and is recognized for its historic neighborhoods.
Springfield 937 Springfield is a city in western Ohio and is known for its cultural and recreational amenities.
Elyria 440 Elyria is a city in northeastern Ohio, known for its historic downtown and parks.
Kettering 937 Kettering is a city in the Dayton metropolitan area, known for its community amenities.
Lima 419 Lima is located in northwestern Ohio and is recognized for its industrial history.