California Area Code

California area codes are numeric designations used to organize telephone numbering within the state. California has numerous area codes, such as 213 for Los Angeles and 415 for San Francisco, each serving distinct geographic regions.

State California
State Abbreviation: CA
State Nickname: Golden State Equality State
Capital City Sacramento
Area Codes 209, 213, 310, 323, 408, 415, 424, 442, 510, 530, 559, 562, 619, 626, 650, 657, 661, 707, 714, 747, 760, 805, 818, 831, 858, 909, 916, 925, 949, 951
Timezone Mountain Time Zone (MT)
wyoming map usa-areacodes.word wyoming map usa-areacodes.word

What time zone is California?

California spans multiple time zones, but the majority of the state is in the Pacific Time Zone (PT), which is typically UTC-8 during Standard Time and UTC-7 during Daylight Saving Time (DST). However, some eastern parts of California, near the border with Nevada, may use the Mountain Time Zone (MT) during DST. It's essential to check specific regions within California for accurate time zone information, especially if Daylight Saving Time is in effect.

Note that the start and end dates of daylight saving time can change


California's area code history is marked by a dynamic evolution driven by the state's rapid growth and telecommunications demands. In 1947, California embraced the North American Numbering Plan (NANP) and had only a handful of area codes, with 213 serving Los Angeles. However, the state's burgeoning population led to the introduction of new area codes, such as 415 for San Francisco in 1959 and 619 for San Diego in 1982. The 1990s and 2000s witnessed a significant proliferation of area codes to accommodate mobile phones and increased demand, resulting in multiple splits and overlays across the state, reflecting California's ever-evolving telecommunication landscape.

All Area Codes in California

This table provides a quick overview of all area codes, their locations, and some historical context for each.

Area Code Location History and Details
209 Central California Includes cities like Stockton and Modesto.
213 Downtown Los Angeles Covers the heart of Los Angeles.
310 Western Los Angeles County Includes cities like Santa Monica and Torrance.
323 Eastern Los Angeles Covers areas such as East LA and parts of downtown Los Angeles.
408 San Jose and South Bay Area Serving San Jose and the southern San Francisco Bay Area.
415 San Francisco and Marin County Covers San Francisco and neighboring Marin County.
510 Oakland and East Bay Serving Oakland, Berkeley, and the East Bay region.
530 Northern California Encompasses cities like Sacramento and Chico.
559 Central California Covers cities such as Fresno and Visalia.
562 Southeastern Los Angeles County Serving areas in southeastern Los Angeles County.
619 San Diego and Southern San Diego County Covers San Diego and the southern parts of the county.
626 Pasadena and San Gabriel Valley Serving Pasadena and the San Gabriel Valley region.
650 San Mateo County and San Francisco Peninsula Covers San Mateo County and parts of the San Francisco Peninsula.
657 Overlay for Area Code 714 in Orange County Added as an overlay for area code 714 in Orange County.
661 Northern Los Angeles County Covers areas in northern Los Angeles County, including Santa Clarita.
707 Northern California Encompasses cities like Napa and Santa Rosa in Northern California.
714 Orange County Serving Orange County, including cities like Anaheim and Irvine.
760 Eastern California Covers areas including Palm Springs and the Mojave Desert.
805 Central and Southern California Encompasses cities like Ventura and Santa Barbara.
818 San Fernando Valley and Nearby Areas Serving the San Fernando Valley and adjacent regions.
831 Central California Includes cities like Monterey and Santa Cruz.
858 Northern San Diego County Covers areas in northern San Diego County, including La Jolla and Del Mar.
909 Inland Empire Serving the Inland Empire, including Riverside and San Bernardino.
916 Sacramento and Surrounding Region Covers Sacramento and the surrounding region.
925 East Bay Area Serving areas including Concord and Walnut Creek in the East Bay.
949 South Orange County Covers South Orange County, including Newport Beach and Laguna Beach.
951 Riverside County Serving Riverside County, including Temecula and Riverside.

Largest Cities in California with area codes

Quick overview of large cities, their area codes, and some historical context for each in california.

Name Area Code History and Details
Stockton 209 A city in Central California.
Modesto 209 Located in Central California.
Los Angeles 213 The largest city in California.
Downtown Los Angeles 213 The central district of Los Angeles.
Los Angeles (Western) 310 Western part of Los Angeles.
Santa Monica 310 A beachfront city in western Los Angeles County.
Los Angeles (Eastern) 323 Eastern part of Los Angeles.
East Los Angeles 323 A neighborhood in Los Angeles.
San Jose 408 The largest city in Silicon Valley.
Sunnyvale 408 Located in the heart of Silicon Valley.
San Francisco 415 The iconic city by the bay.
Oakland 415 A major city in the East Bay Area.
Oakland 510 A vibrant city in the East Bay.
Berkeley 510 Home to the renowned University of California, Berkeley.
Sacramento 530 The capital city of California.
Chico 530 A city in Northern California.
Fresno 559 A major city in California's Central Valley.
Visalia 559 Located in the San Joaquin Valley.
Long Beach 562 A coastal city in Southern California.
Downey 562 Located in southeastern Los Angeles County.
San Diego 619 A major city in Southern California.
Chula Vista 619 Located in the San Diego metropolitan area.
Pasadena 626 Known for the annual Tournament of Roses Parade.
El Monte 626 A city in the San Gabriel Valley.
San Mateo 650 Located in the San Francisco Peninsula.
Redwood City 650 Part of Silicon Valley and the Peninsula.
Anaheim 657 Home to Disneyland Resort.
Santa Ana 657 The county seat of Orange County.
Bakersfield 661 Located in the San Joaquin Valley.
Santa Clarita 661 A city in northern Los Angeles County.
Santa Rosa 707 Located in Sonoma County, known for wine production.
Napa 707 Famous for its vineyards and wine country.
Anaheim 714 Home to Disneyland Resort.
Santa Ana 714 The county seat of Orange County.
San Diego (Northern) 760 Northern part of San Diego County.
Oceanside 760 Located on the coast in San Diego County.
Ventura 805 A coastal city in California.
Santa Barbara 805 Known for its Mediterranean climate and beautiful coastline.
Los Angeles (San Fernando Valley) 818 The San Fernando Valley region of Los Angeles.
Glendale 818 A city in Los Angeles County.
Monterey 831 Located on the Monterey Peninsula.
Santa Cruz 831 Home to the University of California, Santa Cruz.
San Diego (Northern) 858 Northern part of San Diego County.
La Jolla 858 Known for its stunning coastal views and upscale lifestyle.
Riverside (Inland Empire) 909 Part of the Inland Empire region in Southern California.
San Bernardino 909 Located in the Inland Empire.
Sacramento (and surrounding region) 916 The capital city of California.
Roseville 916 A city in the Sacramento metropolitan area.
East Bay Area 925 The East Bay region of the San Francisco Bay Area.
Concord 925 A city in the East Bay Area.
Orange County (South) 949 Southern part of Orange County.
Irvine 949 A planned city in Orange County.
Riverside County 951 Located in Southern California.
Riverside 951 A city in Riverside County.