Arkansas Area Code

Arkansas area codes are numerical prefixes used to designate specific geographic regions within the state of Arkansas, United States. These area codes are part of the North American Numbering Plan (NANP) and are used for routing telephone calls to specific areas. Arkansas currently has multiple area codes, including 479, 501, 870, and more. Each area code covers a different part of the state, helping to organize and manage telephone communication efficiently.

State arkansas
State Abbreviation: AR
State Nickname: Natural State Equality State
Capital City Little Rock
Area Codes 479, 501, 870
Timezone Central Time Zone (CT)
wyoming map usa-areacodes.word wyoming map usa-areacodes.word

What time zone is Arkansas?

Arkansas area codes primarily use the Central Time Zone (CT), with most of the state, including Little Rock, operating on Central Standard Time (CST) during Standard Time (UTC-6:00) and Central Daylight Time (CDT) during Daylight Saving Time (UTC-5:00). However, some eastern regions near the Tennessee border observe Eastern Time (ET), with Eastern Standard Time (EST) during Standard Time (UTC-5:00) and Eastern Daylight Time (EDT) during Daylight Saving Time (UTC-4:00). This time zone diversity accommodates the state's easternmost communities.

Note that the start and end dates of daylight saving time can change


Arkansas has a history of adapting its area codes to meet the changing telecommunications needs of its residents. Area code 501, serving the central region including Little Rock, dates back to the inception of the North American Numbering Plan in 1947. The introduction of area code 479 in 2002 as an overlay for 501 was a response to the growing demand for telephone numbers, driven by population growth and the proliferation of mobile devices. These adjustments reflect Arkansas' commitment to ensuring efficient and ample telecommunications resources for its communities.

All Area Codes in Arkansas

This table provides a quick overview of all area codes, their locations, and some historical context for each.

Area Code Location History and Details
501 Central Arkansas (Including Little Rock) Covers the central part of the state, including the capital city, Little Rock.
870 Eastern and Southern Arkansas Serves the eastern and southern regions of Arkansas.
479 Central Arkansas (Overlay for 501) Overlay area code for the central region, including parts of 501.

Largest Cities in Arkansas with area codes

Quick overview of large cities, their area codes, and some historical context for each in Arkansas.

Name Area Code History and Details
Little Rock 501 The capital and largest city of Arkansas, known for its vibrant culture, historic sites, and economic significance.
Fort Smith 479 The second-largest city in the state, located in western Arkansas along the Arkansas-Oklahoma border.
Fayetteville 479 Home to the University of Arkansas, Fayetteville is a prominent city in the northwest region of the state.
North Little Rock 501 Located directly across the Arkansas River from Little Rock, it's one of the state's largest suburban areas.
Jonesboro 870 A city in northeastern Arkansas known for its educational institutions and healthcare facilities.
Springdale 479 Part of the northwest Arkansas metropolitan area, Springdale is recognized for its growing economy and diverse community.
Conway 501 Situated in central Arkansas, Conway is known for its educational institutions, including the University of Central Arkansas.
Rogers 479 Located in the northwest part of the state, Rogers is known for its business growth and recreational opportunities.
Pine Bluff 870 Located in southeastern Arkansas along the Arkansas River, Pine Bluff has a rich history and cultural heritage.
Hot Springs 501 Famous for its natural hot springs and historic Bathhouse Row, Hot Springs is a popular tourist destination in central Arkansas.